Both were single-vehicle accidents. No injuries reported
New Year's Eve revelers are reminded that Hazlet Police have extra patrols on duty to enforce drunk driving laws. Driving under the influence has resulted in arrests in two incidents in the past 24 hours.
A 30-year old female from Union Beach was charged with DUI by Hazlet Police following a single vehicle accident around 9:30 p.m. Tuesday night, Dec. 29.
Hazlet Police said the driver was involved in a minor accident at Cresci Boulevard and Bethany Road, where she hit a sign. As she came up Bethany Road, she clipped the curb and flipped onto a parked car alongside a house at 126 Bethany Road and Beers Street. There was no major damage to the house, which was occupied at the time. All three township fire companies responded with First Aid. They helped extricate her passenger, a 33 year-old female from Union Beach, from the passenger side. The driver was able to leave the vehicle on her own. There were no major injuries to anyone involved. The driver was charged with DUI, refusal to give a breath sample, careless driving, reckless driving and open container of alcohol in vehicle. She has been released.
Hazlet Police also arrested a 39-year old man from Union Beach who lost control of his car and crashed into a new pole in front of Lumber Supermart on Route 36, near Poole Avenue. The man was charged with DUI and under the influence of narcotics. All three fire companies responded, along with First Aid and assistance from Union Beach. There were no injuries, no other passengers and the roadway was not closed to traffic, police said.
Driving While Intoxicated in New Jersey
From the Division of Highway Traffic Safety
In New Jersey, a person is guilty of drunk driving if he/she operates a motor vehicle with a Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) of 0.08 percent or greater. BAC refers to the amount of alcohol in your blood. Although the law refers to a 0.08 percent BAC, you can be convicted of driving while under the influence of intoxicating liquor even when your BAC is below 0.08 percent. Consuming even small amounts of alcohol dulls the senses, decreases reaction time, and hampers judgement, vision and alertness. If you consume any amount of alcohol and your driving is negatively impacted, you can be convicted of drunk driving.
A parent or guardian who is convicted of driving while intoxicated and had a passenger in the motor vehicle 17 years of age or younger, is also guilty of a disorderly persons offense. In addition, a person forfeits the right to operate a motor vehicle for a maximum of six months and must perform community service for up to five days.
Learn more about the penalties associated with DUI offenses on this page.